Installing a Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS)

For whatever reason, I am freaked out by the prospect of my tires not being up to snuff.  Of course they’re incredibly important.  But the notion of losing traction while on the bike really freaks me out.  Even worse is the idea that the tires might have good tread but still could lose traction due to being under inflated.

On my bike, checking the tire pressure is a bit of an ordeal.  The valve stem on the front tire is easy enough to get to, but the one on the back is under a fender, behind a saddle back and uncomfortably close to the brake disc.  It a hassle.

To make life easier on myself, I invested in a tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS).  On the motorcycle, it’s a pretty slick system.  I didn’t have to remove the tires or anything like that.  The Steelmate TP-90 that I bought replaces the valve stem caps with sensors that detect and transmit your tire pressure.  It’s one of those “why didn’t I think of it” things?

Here’s a 15 minute video I put together illustrating installing the unit on my bike.

 

Oh… and in case anyone wants to check out the manual for the TP-90, I was able to find an electronic copy of it.  Here it is.

STEELMATE_TP_90

3 thoughts on “Installing a Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS)

  1. I don’t notice the weight difference at all. There’s no issue with balance either. It’s kind of amazing. 🙂 One thing about this package was getting it programmed for the first time… the instructions are severely lacking there. I was able to get it worked out, but other than that, it is pretty much all okay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

