Jitters before the trip

I’m heading to Michigan for our annual vacation tomorrow.  We’ve been going for 10 years and we absolutely love it.  My uncle has a cottage on a lake and opens it up to people during the summer.  We’re fortunate that he has allowed us to head up there.

Ever since I got the Honda, I knew that I wanted to ride there.  The cottage is in the north western corner of the lower part of Michigan.  If you know where Sleeping Bear Dunes is, we’re very close to that.  Riding from home to the cottage can go one of two ways.  I could head south out of Wisconsin, through Chicago and Indiana before finally hitting Michigan.   That trip (if I rode straight through) would probably take 9 or 10 hours.  But it would make me ride through Chicago.

z0ldr

Oooooorrr….

I could head north from Madison and go through the Upper Penninsula of Michigan.  Lush forests, small towns, low traffic… heck yeah.  Straight through, that would take 13 or 14 hours.  Too much for one leg, but splitting the trip into two segments, it works out great.

I’ve actually done the trip several times.  When I go,  I stop halfway through the UP.  I stay at the cheapest hotel I can find up there.  It’s kinda “murdery” but it does the job.  This time, I found a Bed and Breakfast to stay at.  It should be much nicer and is actually a little cheaper.

Here’s the rub though.  I am really nervous right now.

bge19

I’m not sure if it’s nerves or excitement.

I should be leaving home in roughly 12 hours.  Maybe it’s just the excited anticipation of the trip.  It’s a long trip, but that’s okay.  Goodness knows I have the right bike for this trip.  Seven hours on the Harley Ultra Limited should be nothing.  Doing it on that Honda was brutal, but on this cruiser I should be good to go.

28009689775_5fb3053dde_z

The bike is in good condition.  No troubles at all.  Tires have less than 8,000 miles on them and they look to be in good condition.  Regular service is 2,000 miles away so that’s all good too.

So why am I nervous?  The weather is going to be absolutely perfect!  I won’t run into any rain or anything like that.  It’ll be sunny and warm.  I just don’t know.

I have a feeling I’m going to have a rough time getting to sleep tonight.  I guess I should finish my packing first.

 

2 thoughts on “Jitters before the trip

Leave a Reply

