Who gets “the wave”?

Maybe a better title is “What constitutes a motorcycle”?

As I ride down the road, there are many bikes out.  It’s summertime in Wisconsin and every weekend there are charity rides, poker runs and people just out enjoying the day.  People also use their bikes to commute and run errands.  There are no shortages of people to acknowledge while riding.

But sometimes I’ll come across this…

moped-fun-e1412374634153

This young one would not get a biker wave.  Normally people like this think Harley riders are scarey or something so they wouldn’t wave anyhow. But, she’s still on two wheels, so why not?  Why wouldn’t I drop my hand and give her a wave?

For me, it comes down to this… she’s not on a “real” bike.

59276780

Okay, okay… settle down everyone.  This is my blog and I get to write whatever I want.  Rest assured I have put careful and considerate thought into this and my net of what constitutes a “wave worthy” ride is cast far and wide.  My criteria actually has nothing to do with size, but simply capability.

So… let’s go through the list.

If you have to shift it yourself, it’s a real motorcycle.

Think about that for a second.  If you have to work the clutch and to the fancy footwork to shift the transmission, that is enough for me.  That means that the Honda Grom is a real bike in my book.  Of course it is!  Why wouldn’t it be?  It also means that this is a “real bike” even though it’s only got an 80cc motor.

Yam_PW80

Now, I realize the Yamaha PW80 doesn’t have a clutch, but it does have a three speed transmission, so it counts.

Basically, it comes down to this… if, as a rider, you have the wherewithal to recognize that the engine is taxed and you need to control it, you’re a real biker on a real bike.

But wait!  What about my Suzuki Burgman 650?  What about my Yamaha T-Max?  What about my Honda NC700?   Hang tight…

If you can ride it on the highway, it’s a real motorcycle.

The second piece of the puzzle is it’s capability to carry the rider at speed.  If your ride has enough ooomph to make it down the highway at highway speeds, then in my book, it’s a real motorcycle.  We might want to call it a “step through” motorcycle, but one way or the other, it counts.  And you also get a biker wave.  From me at least.

That about covers it.  And those two things cover a lot.  Most likely, if you think you should get a wave,  you probably will from me.  For those who are on two wheels, but on a little urban runaround, I applaud you for riding, but I probably won’t wave.  But you probably won’t notice either.

 

One thought on “Who gets “the wave”?

Leave a Reply

