I could just ride forever

This morning was one of those mornings.  I backed the bike out of the garage so I could make my way to work.  I enjoy my job so even on the days when I have to take the cage it’s okay.  But on the mornings when I get to ride, it’s even better.

I’m an early riser.  The opportunity to get to work before my co-workers affords me the opportunity to catch up on some reading or focus on tasks that would otherwise be impossible in the open office I’m in.

This morning, I knew it was going to be something special right off the bat.  It’s 55 degrees and the sky is as clear and blue as it can get.  There isn’t really any wind nor humidity to speak of.  I found myself slipping into the “zone” immediately.

If you ride, you know what the “zone” is.  For any of you who might not be sure about what I’m referring to, the “zone” is that state of mind where you just let it all go.  You become one with the motorcycle instead of just an operator of the machine.  You are focused on your surroundings (at all times please!) but you notice things like the smell of the lilacs by your neighbors house or the flowers planted around a mailbox.  Things that would otherwise go unnoticed.  You’re part of the environment.

Today was one of those mornings.  I was cruising down the highway and simply enjoying life.  The ride was peaceful.  The wind in my face was cool and soft.  The bike was running great.

This was one of those mornings where I literally said out loud, to myself, to the bike or to noone at all… I could just ride forever.

3 thoughts on “I could just ride forever

Leave a Reply

