It was four years ago today…

It was four years ago today that I signed the paperwork on my Honda and brought it home.  

  
That’s a picture I literally took on my way home from the dealership.  That is such a great looking bike.  I’ll never forget it.  As I’ve mentioned, it just wasn’t really the right bike for me, but I did learn a lot from it.  I learned what I did and didn’t want in a motorcycle.  I learned the joy and peace that getting out and going for a ride provides.  I learned that I really don’t have much brand bias.  I mean, I’m a Harley guy now, but that doesn’t really have much to do with Harely being a “HARLEY”.  It just so happened that when I bought it, it was the bike that fit me best that met my criteria.  The Indian Roadmaster was a great bike, but it didn’t fit me as well as the Harley.

It’s interesting to run into other people who find out I ride a Harley.  They automatically assume that I must hate any bikes that aren’t from Milwaukee.  They’re really surprised to find out that nothing could be further from the truth!  I love all bikes except for the bikes that aren’t being ridden.  If you have some garage queen that you never ride, that’s a bike I can do without.  That being said, not everything with two wheels counts as a “motorcycle”.  I’m pretty lenient though.

  • If if can go on the highway at highway speeds, it’s a motorcycle.
  • If you have to shift it yourself, it’s a motorcycle.

That’s pretty much it.  Basically, those little 50cc scooters you see all over campus, those aren’t motorcycles.  But that 125 dirt rat…  It is.  That 400cc scooter that you see loaded up cruising down the highway getting 51mpg…. I count that as a motorcycle.

I learned what a guardian bell is.  I learned the truth of the phrase “Get your kids into motorcycles… They’ll never have money for drugs.”  I learned what the “drop handed wave” is.

  
As I have chronicled before, that Honda was everything I wanted in a bike before I knew what I wanted.  I pulled that line from “Weird Science”.  In the scene, Anthony Michael Hall is telling his new real girlfriend that the computer generated girl, Lisa, is what he wanted before he knew what he wanted.  I like that.  As such, the Honda came to be known as “Lisa”.

So here’s to you Lisa… Wherever you are.  

Leave a Reply

